News & Events

Texas Department of Agriculture Expands the Citrus Greening Quarantine

(Mission, TX) Prior to February 27, 2014, there were three 5-mile quarantine zones for citrus greening disease established by the Texas Department of Agriculture in South Texas: Mission, San Juan and La Blanca. On February 27, 2014, based on a new detection, TDA expanded the quarantine zone to encompass all three zones and the new finding. The boundaries of the new quarantine zone is delineated by roads, boundaries or landmarks. All or parts of the following cities are now in the quarantine zone: Alamo, Alton, Doffing, Donna, Edcouch, Edinburg, Elsa, La Blanca, La Homa, McAllen, Mercedes, Mission, Palmhurst, Pharr, San Carlos, and Weslaco. If you live in the quarantine zone and own citrus plants, you are not allowed to move citrus plants or plant materials (leaves or twigs) outside of the quarantine zone. Citrus plants include orange, grapefruit, lemon, lime, kumquat, tangerine or orange jasmine. There is a quarantine map on this website and you can also view the map and more information on the Texas Department of Agriculture’s website.

If you have any questions or think that you your citrus tree may have citrus greening disease, please fill out the contact form on this website or call 956-580-1917.